- 1 What is the obstruction rule in softball?
- 2 What’s the difference between obstruction and interference?
- 3 Is interference a dead ball?
- 4 Can a fielder interfere with a runner?
- 5 Can you block base in softball?
- 6 Can a catcher block the plate without the ball?
- 7 What happens if a base coach touches a runner?
- 8 Is a runner out when hit by a batted ball?
- 9 Can a fielder block first base?
- 10 Can a runner hit the catcher?
- 11 Who is out on interference?
- 12 What happens on catcher’s interference?
- 13 Can a run score on interference?
- 14 How do you score a runner hit by a batted ball?
What is the obstruction rule in softball?
The Amateur Softball Association of American sets the universal rules for softball in the United States. According to their official rule book, obstruction is when a defensive player affects or prevents a batter from swinging at a pitched ball or hinders the progress of a runner.
What’s the difference between obstruction and interference?
One key distinction between interference and obstruction: Interference is defined as a violation of either the offense or the defense; obstruction can only be committed by the defense.
Is interference a dead ball?
If the interference is intentional, the ball shall be dead at the moment of the interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of interference.
Can a fielder interfere with a runner?
A fielder who is making a play on a batted ball is “protected” from interference by a base runner. In other words, the fielder gets the right-of-way in cases where a base runner converges on a fielder who is making a play on a batted ball.
Can you block base in softball?
The NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel approved a rule banning defenders in softball from blocking the plate or base before they have possession of the ball, effective for the 2018 season. Currently, the defender could block the plate or base while in the act of catching the ball.
Can a catcher block the plate without the ball?
If a catcher blocks the plate without possession of the ball, the runner will be safe. However, a catcher may block the plate to field a throw if the umpire determines he could not have otherwise fielded it and thus contact with the runner could not have been avoided.
What happens if a base coach touches a runner?
If the base coach base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists the runner in returning to, or leaving the base, the runner is out and the ball is dead.
Is a runner out when hit by a batted ball?
Once the batted ball passes an infielder [3b,SS,2b,1b] and strikes a runner, the play proceeds and the runner is not called out. If the runner runs in front of and infielder and is hit by the batted ball, he should be called OUT for interfering with the infielder’s right to try to make a play on the ball.
Can a fielder block first base?
Basically, the rule states that if a fielder is in the act of making a play at a base and he is in possession of the ball or awaiting a thrown ball, he may block the base.
Can a runner hit the catcher?
A runner may not run out of a direct line to the plate in order to initiate contact with the catcher, or any player, covering the plate. Runners are not required to slide, and catchers in possession of the ball are allowed to block the plate.
Who is out on interference?
If there are fewer than two outs and a runner is trying to score, and the batter interferes with the tag attempt at home plate, then the runner is out for the batter’s interference, while the batter is not out.
What happens on catcher’s interference?
The batter is awarded first base if the catcher (or any other fielder) interferes with him at any point during a pitch. When catcher interference occurs, the umpire will allow the play to progress because the outcome of the play may be more desirable than the interference.
Can a run score on interference?
A following play is made on the batter-runner, who is called out for interference outside the three-foot lane. Ruling: With less than two outs, the run scores and batter-runner is out. With two outs, the run does not count.
How do you score a runner hit by a batted ball?
The runner is scored as a Put out, the put out credited to the closest infielder at the time he was hit, in this case probably the third baseman or the shortstop. The runner being hit is the third out of the inning, the ball becomes dead. The batter is scored as a fielders choice.