- 1 What is the purpose of the infield fly rule?
- 2 What is Infield Fly in softball?
- 3 Does softball have infield fly rule?
- 4 Why is there an infield fly rule Who does it protect?
- 5 Does the umpire have to yell Infield Fly?
- 6 Can you run on an Infield Fly?
- 7 What is the look back rule in softball?
- 8 What happens if umpire doesn’t call infield fly?
- 9 What’s an illegal pitch in softball?
- 10 Can you intentionally drop a fly ball?
- 11 Can you call infield fly after the play?
- 12 Is there an infield fly with bases loaded?
- 13 What happens if a ball hits a runner?
- 14 Do runners have to tag on infield fly?
- 15 What is a forced out in softball?
What is the purpose of the infield fly rule?
The infield fly rule states that runners may advance “after the ball is touched”. This rule governs the tag up if the infield fly is caught. The runner does not need to wait on base until the fielder achieves full control of the ball. There is no need to tag up at any time if the ball is dropped.
What is Infield Fly in softball?
An Infield Fly is a fair fly ball (not a line drive or bunt) that, in the judgment of the umpire, can be caught by an infielder, pitcher, or catcher with ordinary effort and when there are runners on first and second or first, second, and third and less than two outs.
Does softball have infield fly rule?
In order for the Infield Fly rule to be called, there must be runners on either first and second bases, or first, second, and third bases. Any other scenario does not permit the calling of an Infield Fly. The umpire cannot call an Infield Fly if the ball is bunted, or on a line drive.
Why is there an infield fly rule Who does it protect?
The main concept of the batter being called out on an infield fly rule is to protect runners on base against a team allowing a shallow fly ball to drop in with the intention of causing a force play that would not occur if the ball were caught in the air.
Does the umpire have to yell Infield Fly?
The infield fly rule only applies to a fair ball. Whether the ball is caught or not, the infield fly rule no longer applies. So, if the ball is dropped by the third baseman in foul territory, it’s simply a foul ball and the batter is still up. In this case, umpires are taught to yell, “Infield fly if fair”.
Can you run on an Infield Fly?
The Infield Fly only calls the batter out. It does NOT create a dead-ball situation. Runners are allowed to advance at their own jeopardy the same as any other fly ball.
What is the look back rule in softball?
ASA Look Back Rule. The ASA “Look Back Rule” applies. When a batter gets a hit, play is live until the pitcher has possession of the ball in the eight foot radius around the pitchers mound. Once possession is made, all runners may only stop once, but then must immediately return to the base or advance to the next base.
What happens if umpire doesn’t call infield fly?
Umpire Fails to Call Infield Fly (but should have) A fly ball that meets all the requirements for an infield fly, but is not declared as such, is not an infield fly. Resulting action is allowed; however, the umpires should not allow a double play that the infield fly rule was intended to prevent.
What’s an illegal pitch in softball?
For those not familiar, an illegal pitch in softball occurs when the pitcher breaks a rule while delivering her pitch. The illegal pitch is called by the umpire, resulting in an awarded ball to the batter in the box. If there is a runner on base when an illegal pitch occurs, the base runner is awarded the next base.
Can you intentionally drop a fly ball?
When an infielder deliberately drops a fair ball or a line drive to set up a double play situation, runners may safely return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch. Runners cannot advance under this rule. Umpires shall immediately call “Time,” when, in their judgment, the ball is intentionally dropped.
Can you call infield fly after the play?
Unless NCAA has changed their ruling, they do not allow the IFF to be called after the fact. The umpire must call it at the time of the play.
Is there an infield fly with bases loaded?
Some very specific conditions are required for the infield fly rule to go into effect. There must be runners on first and second base, or the bases must be loaded (runners on first, second, and third).
What happens if a ball hits a runner?
After a batted ball has been touched (deflected) by an infielder, if the ball then strikes a runner (unintentionally on the part of the runner), it is alive and in play despite the fact that another infielder may be in position to field the ball.
Do runners have to tag on infield fly?
On a caught infield fly, the runners must tag up (retouch their base at the time of pitch) in order to be eligible to advance, as on any catch. If the infield fly falls to fair ground untouched, or is touched and dropped, runners need not tag up.
What is a forced out in softball?
A force out (aka force play) is made when a baserunner is forced to leave his base when the batter becomes a baserunner himself, and a fielder successfully tags the next base before the runner can reach it.