Often asked: What Is The Infield Fly Rule In Softball?

What is Infield Fly in softball?

An Infield Fly is a fair fly ball (not a line drive or bunt) that, in the judgment of the umpire, can be caught by an infielder, pitcher, or catcher with ordinary effort and when there are runners on first and second or first, second, and third and less than two outs.

What is the purpose of the infield fly rule?

The infield fly rule states that runners may advance “after the ball is touched”. This rule governs the tag up if the infield fly is caught. The runner does not need to wait on base until the fielder achieves full control of the ball. There is no need to tag up at any time if the ball is dropped.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: What Is The Best Slow Pitch Softball Bat 2018?

Does softball have infield fly rule?

In order for the Infield Fly rule to be called, there must be runners on either first and second bases, or first, second, and third bases. Any other scenario does not permit the calling of an Infield Fly. The umpire cannot call an Infield Fly if the ball is bunted, or on a line drive.

Why is there no infield fly rule with runner on first?

Why is there no infield fly rule with a runner on first? If there were just a runner on first the only advantage the defensive team would have by letting the ball drop is to get the lead runner out at second.

Is an infield fly a dead ball in softball?

The Infield Fly only calls the batter out. It does NOT create a dead-ball situation. Runners are allowed to advance at their own jeopardy the same as any other fly ball. If caught, the runners must re-touch the base or risk being called out on appeal.

What is the look back rule in softball?

ASA Look Back Rule. The ASA “Look Back Rule” applies. When a batter gets a hit, play is live until the pitcher has possession of the ball in the eight foot radius around the pitchers mound. Once possession is made, all runners may only stop once, but then must immediately return to the base or advance to the next base.

Does the umpire have to yell infield fly?

The infield fly rule only applies to a fair ball. Whether the ball is caught or not, the infield fly rule no longer applies. So, if the ball is dropped by the third baseman in foul territory, it’s simply a foul ball and the batter is still up. In this case, umpires are taught to yell, “Infield fly if fair”.

You might be interested:  Question: Softball Bat Changees Color When Old?

Can you run on a fly ball?

By rule, baserunners must tag up when a fly ball is caught in flight by a fielder. After a legal tag up, runners are free to attempt to advance, even if the ball was caught in foul territory. On short fly balls, runners seldom attempt to advance after tagging up, due to the high risk of being thrown out.

Can an infielder drop a ball on purpose?

When an infielder deliberately drops a fair ball or a line drive to set up a double play situation, runners may safely return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch. Runners cannot advance under this rule. Umpires shall immediately call “Time,” when, in their judgment, the ball is intentionally dropped.

What happens if umpire doesn’t call infield fly?

Umpire Fails to Call Infield Fly (but should have) A fly ball that meets all the requirements for an infield fly, but is not declared as such, is not an infield fly. Resulting action is allowed; however, the umpires should not allow a double play that the infield fly rule was intended to prevent.

Can you call infield fly after the play?

Unless NCAA has changed their ruling, they do not allow the IFF to be called after the fact. The umpire must call it at the time of the play.

Is there an infield fly with bases loaded?

Some very specific conditions are required for the infield fly rule to go into effect. There must be runners on first and second base, or the bases must be loaded (runners on first, second, and third).

You might be interested:  2017 Softball World Series Who Made It?

Why do catcher’s throw to 3rd after strikeout?

After a strikeout, it is common for catchers to throw the ball to third base. Throwing the ball around shakes things up for the fielders and helps keep them on their toes. Throwing the ball to third also keeps the infielders’ arms loose for throwing.

What happens if a ball hits a runner?

After a batted ball has been touched (deflected) by an infielder, if the ball then strikes a runner (unintentionally on the part of the runner), it is alive and in play despite the fact that another infielder may be in position to field the ball.

Can an umpire call a runner out for missing a base without an appeal?

The fielder in turn makes a spectacular catch, the runner seeing this starts running back to first base, the fielder throws to first and the throw beats the runner. Ruling: The umpire should call the runner out. Under the circumstances given a verbal appeal of this action is not required.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *